Home » Reflections » Honoring

Honoring

image

Morning Blessings, Today I’m honoring my beloved late grandmother Daisy on what would have been her 98th birthday. She was the most inspirational and amazing role model. She was born at a time when there was so much gender discrimination yet she fought to educate her daughters the same way as her sons. Her children were the first in the family to go to school and go to college and eventually leave Asia for graduate studies abroad. All four of her daughters have earned their doctorates. My grandmother wasn’t even allowed to finish grade school yet she was a brilliant poet. She wrote her first poem at the age of 9 when her mother passed away. She was my role model growing up and she instilled in me the importance of working hard, seeking knowledge and appreciating every thing we have and not focusing on what we don’t have… I know she’s watching over us from heaven. I honor you today! Love you!

Leave a Reply

