Home » Reflections » First Anniversary

First Anniversary

image

Personal Reflection My beloved Aunty sent me this image. She lost her youngest son to a rare cancer almost a year ago this month. Last year, I had spent these days launching a global campaign against the clock trying to save his life. We tried to get him access to a drug that could have saved his life but the cost was too much. He fought this disease with courage, humility, compassion and without fear or bitterness to the very last breath. I no longer use the phrase, lost to cancer but say, he stood up to cancer and I know we will meet again. Recently, I saw him in a dream for the first time since his passing. He looked good. My Aunty is suffering from grief and a broken heart. I don’t think a mother can ever get over loosing a child. It is our faith and belief in higher power that gets us through the tough days. So sweet Hamza, I honor your spirit! You will always remain in our hearts. Love & Light

Leave a Reply

