Home » Favorite Poetry » Rainbow

Rainbow

Beautiful message from Oprah on Maya’s passing. I was just thinking why I love poetry so much. The beautiful thing about poetry is that it lives on forever. Poets live in our hearts forever. They touch your soul in a way through their words that you always remember how you were feeling when you first read that poem.

” I’ve been blessed to have Maya Angelou as my mentor, mother/sister, and friend since my 20’s. She was there for me always, guiding me through some of the most important years of my life. The world knows her as a poet but at the heart of her, she was a teacher. ‘When you learn, teach. When you get, give’ is one of my best lessons from her. She won three Grammys, spoke six languages and was the second poet in history to recite a poem at a presidential inauguration. But what stands out to me most about Maya Angelou is not what she has done or written or spoken, it’s how she lived her life. She moved through the world with unshakeable calm, confidence and a fierce grace. I loved her and I know she loved me. I will profoundly miss her. She will always be the rainbow in my clouds.” Oprah

Leave a Reply

