Home » Reflections » Twin Souls

Twin Souls

Twin Souls

When we are apart, I lie awake at night
making love to the space between us
your fingertips are tracing my tongue
I draw you into my dreams
the sky folds around us
the stars feel like rain
and from so far away
you look like a tiny grain of sand
but you feel like the ocean
you remind me of the home I knew
before I knew I’d left it.

When we are apart, I lie awake at night
sifting through memories
a tireless task
sometimes I find one that makes my skin tingle
and sometimes one that jabs at my heart
I am aware of the power
we summon together
to heal or to destroy
and I want you by my side
as long as there is a side to be by.

When we are apart, I see my fear
I remember that I am small
that I am cold
that I am hungry
and I curl you around me
breath on my neck
hand at my breast
heart beating into my back
an echo of the last time
and the last time
and the last time
we never parted

-Jodi Meadows

Leave a Reply

